WK:10 Crafting with Electronics

According to sparkfun,”A paper circuit is a functioning electronic circuit built on a paper surface instead of a PCB(printed circuit board). Projects can range from greeting cards, to origami, to traditional art such as paintings or drawings.” Sounds fun right!

After I had attended ASTE this last winter, I was so excited (and overwhelmed) at the amount of amazing ideas teachers were working on introducing into their classrooms. One of the coolest things I was introduced to was Paper Circuitry. As I was reading through the description, attempting to pick my “classes” I wanted to attend, it read “turn your paper notebook into a circuit”. I was like “What! Yeah right, must have been a misprint.” Come to find out, it wasn’t a misprint.

When I got into the class, I paid a small amount of money for some copper tape and stickers, brought my own notebook and was told to jump in. I had no idea what I was supposed to do, I was just instructed to play. I knew nothing about circuits.

I am so glad I went to that class. After the initial frustration waned, the presenters started to explain where this idea grew from and many idea in which this type of learning would be beneficial. One visual display of benefits can be found at Viemo (and below)in regards to Pu Gong Ying Tu’s Dandelion Painting. I love the art but now I would really be interested to see the circuits behind the painting.

One of the first stories we heard [at ASTE] was about this young lady, Jie Qi, from MIT. It was she who made paper circuitry widely know and can be found at the Chibi site . Then we were walked through a few more sites.

ITEMS TO BOOKMARK if you are wanting to know more about paper circuitry!

One resource for Paper Circuitry can be found at High-Low Tech. This site has projects, links, workshops, and connections to other like minded people. Another resource can be found in 21 Century Notebooking. Don’t forget about Sparkfun.

There are just so many ways to allow students to be creative that will work easily into other subjects (electricity, engineering, fashion, biology,…the list goes on) where learning will continue to happen.

Wired, an internet blog, posted an article that showcases many ideas of how you can “Go Bionic with These Arduino Projects” (2013). There are many neat ideas that would be a great springboard for students needing some starting ideas. I especially liked the “arm pet” and the little black “light-up image” dress.

Resources:

Chibitronics (2014) Electronics for Everyone. Retreived from chibitronics.com on July 20, 2016.

NexMap. 21 Century Notebooking. Retrieved from nexmap.org/21c-notebooking.io on February 24, 2016.

SparkFun Electronics. PCB Basics. Retreived from https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/pcb-basics on February 24, 2016.

Viemo-Interactive Light Painting by Pu Gong Ying Tu . Retrieved on July 20, 2016.

Wired Blog (2013) Go Bionic with these Arduino Projects. Retreived at http://www.wired.com/2013/01/wearable-arduinos/ on July 19, 2016.

 

3 thoughts on “WK:10 Crafting with Electronics”

  1. Thanks for all the ideas on where to access materials for the paper circuits. I’m going to and check them out! I have always wanted to go to ASTE but I haven’t been sent yet by my admin. I’m hoping with my Maker Space proposal that I will get the chance!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the links! That’s amazing that you have actually gotten to experience some of this technology. I will have to look for it at ASTE this year- the whole point of tech like this is to be hands-on, tinker, and create, so I think I am feeling the limitations of only reading/watching videos about it online.

    Like

  3. I too love the paper circuits. Our science curriculum changed this year and I was curious if electricity was any part of 1st grade. It turns out that it isn’t however engineering is and I think I can sneak this in both in science and reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

